Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. What I Expected from an Internship Experience
  3. Applications & Interviews
  4. How I Applied and Got into Finexus International Sdn. Bhd.
  5. Experiences at a Real-world Environment
  6. Lessons Learnt
  7. Conclusion

Introduction

Embarking on an internship is a significant milestone for any student, offering the chance to transition from academic learning to real-world applications. As a final-year student in the Bachelor of Software Engineering (Honours) programme at Tunku Abdul Rahman University of Management and Technology, I had the opportunity to intern at Finexus International Sdn. Bhd., a prominent player in the financial technology sector. This blog captures my journey, experiences, and the invaluable lessons I learned during my time at Finexus.

What I expected from an internship experience

My expectations for an internship were rooted in gaining practical experience, honing my technical skills, and understanding the dynamics of a professional work environment. I anticipated that this experience would bridge the gap between theoretical knowledge and its application in real-world scenarios. Additionally, I hoped to develop soft skills such as communication, teamwork, and problem-solving, which are crucial for professional growth.

Applications & Interviews

The process of securing an internship involved meticulous preparation and several stages of evaluation. It began with submitting my application, which included my resume, academic transcripts, and a cover letter detailing my interest in the internship and my career aspirations. The interview process was designed to assess both technical competence and cultural fit. I underwent multiple rounds of interviews, including technical assessments and behavioral interviews, each aimed at evaluating different aspects of my capabilities and potential.

How I got applied and got into Finexus International Sdn. Bhd.

My journey to joining Finexus International Sdn. Bhd. started with a detailed research into companies that aligned with my career interests in software engineering and fintech. After identifying Finexus as a potential match, I tailored my application to highlight relevant skills and experiences. The application process was competitive, and I was thrilled when I received an offer to join their team. The Talent Acquisition Team at Finexus played a crucial role in facilitating the onboarding process, ensuring I had all the necessary tools and support from the outset.

Experiences at a Real-world Environment

Working at Finexus provided a deep dive into the fintech industry, particularly through my involvement in the COREWORKS™ project, a comprehensive banking platform designed to enhance customer experiences. My role focused on the front-end development revamp using React.js, where I was responsible for redesigning user interfaces and integrating APIs. This project not only enhanced my technical skills in web development but also introduced me to tools such as DBeaver, Postman, and version control systems like Git and Subversion​.

Lessons Learnt

The internship at Finexus was a rich learning experience that extended beyond technical skills. Here are some key lessons I learned:

  1. Problem-Solving and Independence
    I learned the importance of attempting to solve problems independently before seeking help, which fostered critical thinking and self-reliance.
  2. Effective Communication
    Clear communication and the ability to ask the right questions were vital in understanding tasks and expectations, which in turn improved my efficiency and output quality.
  3. Team Collaboration
    Working in a team exposed me to different perspectives and approaches, highlighting the value of collaboration and collective problem-solving.
  4. Adaptability and Continuous Learning
    The dynamic nature of the fintech industry underscored the need for continuous learning and adaptability to new technologies and methodologies.
  5. Time Management
    Balancing multiple tasks and meeting deadlines taught me the importance of prioritizing and managing time effectively.

Conclusion

My internship at Finexus International Sdn. Bhd. was an enriching experience that significantly contributed to my personal and professional growth. It provided a platform to apply theoretical knowledge in practical scenarios, develop essential soft skills, and gain insights into the fintech industry. This experience has not only prepared me for future career endeavors but also inspired me to continue pursuing excellence in software engineering and beyond.